A Day at The Beach

As anticipated, my time with my relatives was amazing. I’d show pictures but we are laughing so hard in most of them we look silly :). ❤️

They were just as I remembered them; loving, kind, funny and respectful. They made us laugh, we had our serious moments, and we got to know another member of the family, which just felt like we were welcoming an old friend.

We went to dinner, then to the beach and then out for ice cream. I was in seventh heaven watching them lightly poke fun of each other and laughing till our stomachs hurt, or show concern and help each other, or talk and laugh with a bunch of complete strangers (another family passing by on the beach), and share stories of life and such, even as we all were so tired from our long days…

I can see why, now. I can see why I had such a culture shock when I entered the real world at eighteen.  Nowhere else have I been treated with such warmth, kindness, respect and observed such inclusiveness. The main mindset is “Welcome! Don’t mind us if we get a little silly, please make yourself comfortable and join in! We are happy to have you 🙂 💕”

There is no ego, no conceit and no arrogance. No underpinning insults or terse competition. No one talks about the status of their jobs in a bragging manner (even though I know they very well could), or the type of car they just bought.  They are one of the very few groups I’ve encountered where myself and others do NOT have to have one’s guard up constantly. There is no need, no one cares about the shallow materialistic things in life at that moment. They are just there to relax and have fun.

Making people feel welcome and comfortably at ease, putting smiles on others’ faces or helping them out in one way or another… That’s just my relatives. One Christmas way back in my childhood, we invited a family friend to our holiday get together. The lady brought her boyfriend and just as always, we all said hi and got to know him and talk with him. The evening included food, beverages, kids running around, beautiful music in the background, at times soft conversation and at other, roaring laughter 😄.

To me it seemed like a usual family get together. Three days later however, we received a call from the family friend and she told us “My boyfriend could not stop talking about how much fun he had! He said he has never before in his life experienced such warmth, hospitality, kindness and fun! Your family is one of a kind and he wanted to say thank you soo much, he just couldn’t believe how nice it all was, thank you!”

I do remember seeing him laughing and enjoying himself. He looked soo happy.  I thought nothing of it. That was normal for me with this bunch 🙂 ❤️.

Whether we were at the beach or in a house or at an airport, they taught me how to “make the best of what is, right now”, to love, be grateful, be kind, give to others, do what you can to put a smile on a loved ones or a complete strangers face, and help others…❤️

It was a wonderful reminder, seeing them again, to not take certain things so seriously and to remember the more important things in life.

I’m just sending out smiles to you today and wishing you the very best!

☀️

3 thoughts on “A Day at The Beach

Leave a Reply

